Music as an Inspiration: Going Out to the Real World

“Where words fail, music speaks.”
~ Hans Christian Andersen

Music has always been a huge part of my life, even from an early age. Every morning, the songs coming from our radio is the first thing I hear. I grew up in a music-loving family so I appreciate and enjoy listening to various music genres. Even if none of my family members (including myself) are musically inclined, singing and dancing have always been a part of our family bonding.

The quote above applies to me perfectly because music is my inspiration whenever I encounter problems. It is my therapy when I’m having an awful day and my best companion when I’m alone.

As a music aficionado, I find it difficult to choose a favorite song. But lately, the songs of Ms. Sara Bareilles have been reducing the stored up stress from work and personal problems. Out of all her songs, “Brave” from her album The Blessed Unrest relates and captures my attention the most. It is one of her feel-good and motivational type of songs and served as the prelude to the entire album.

Everybody’s been there,
Everybody’s been stared down by the enemy
Fallen for the fear
And done some disappearing,
Bow down to the mighty
Don’t run, just stop holding your tongue

Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live
Maybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave is

The track is about a person giving advice to a friend struggling to come out with an important confession. It relates the most because it encourages people like me to be dauntless and face their fears. While most people know me as a cheerful and outspoken person, I still have my own share of problems and insecurities. I can’t easily disclose them and it has been building up inside of me.

Whenever I hear the song, it reminds me that I’m not the only one suffering. Maybe someone is experiencing worse so there’s no need to conceal or escape. What I need to do is to seek for guidance, go out to the real world, be honest about how I feel, and everything will fall into their proper places.

What about you? What is your favorite song and why you like it so much?

Leave a Reply

